Stage set for Khattar swearing-in as Haryana’s first BJP CM

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: Oct 26, 2014 00:40 IST

The stage is set for the swearing-in of Haryana’s first chief minister from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Manohar Lal Khattar, and his council of ministers on Sunday at Panchkula near here.

The ceremony will be an unprecedented mega event, with Prime Minister Narendra Modi, his cabinet colleagues, chief ministers of the BJP-ruled states, and other top leaders of the saffron party among nearly 150 VIPs in attendance. The function for which three daises have been raised will be start at the 13-acre fair grounds in Sector 5, Panchkula, at 11.23am. On one of the two stages along the main platform, the new BJP legislators and parliamentarian would sit, while the other is reserved for union ministers and religious leaders.

Besides Modi, BJP national president Amit Shah, former deputy prime minister LK Advani, and chief ministers Shivraj Singh Chauhan (Madhya Pradesh), Anandiben Patel (Gujarat), Vasundhara Raje Scindia (Rajasthan), Raman Singh (Chhatisgarh), and Manohar Parrikar (Goa) will also be coming to the ceremony, along with Punjab CM Parkash Singh Badal and deputy CM Sukhbir Singh Badal. The seating arrangements are for more than 50,000 people.

More support for BJP

A BJP press release stated here on Saturday that with four of the five independent legislators, namely Ravinder Machhrouli (Samalkha), Dinesh Kaushik (Pundri), Jasbir Deswal (Safidon), and Rahish Khan (Punhana), as well as the sole Bahujan Samaj Party legislator Tek Chand Sharma (Prithla) having extended unconditional support to the BJP, the party’s effective strength had risen from 47 to 52 in the House of 90.

also read

Prime Minister
Show comments