Telangana turmoil: Pallam Raju, five Seemandhra ministers resign in protest | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Telangana turmoil: Pallam Raju, five Seemandhra ministers resign in protest

india Updated: Oct 04, 2013 22:42 IST

A day after the Union cabinet approved the formation of Telangana as the 29th state, minister of human resource development Pallam Raju resigned to protest against the decision.

"I have not acted in haste, my decision to resign was carefully thought out," Raju said, alleging the cabinet did not take their "anguish" into account while taking the decision.

"It is a very sad state for Andhra Pradesh, and I am aggrieved at the rush to bifurcate the state," Raju added.

Raju is one of the six central ministers from Seemandhra region to resign.

Raju called Prime Minister Manmohan Singh immediately after the cabinet meeting to convey his decision to quit. Singh advised him not to act in haste.

Minister of textiles KS Rao, ministers of state K Chiranjeevi and Kotla Suryaprakash Reddy also announced their resignations.

D Purandeswari and K Krupa Rani on Friday said they too were resigning to protest against the cabinet decision to create a separate Telangana state. Suryaprakash Reddy is from Rayalaseema while the other ministers are from coastal Andhra.

Chiranjeevi faxed his resignation to Singh, sources in the Congress party said. Other ministers said they have resigned, but there is no confirmation if they sent their resignation letters.

Four Congress MPs, V Arun Kumar, Ananta Venkatarami Reddy, A Sai Pratap and Sabbam Hari also resigned Thursday. They also announced they are resigning from the primary membership of the party.

Three other central ministers from coastal Andhra and more MPs may resign Friday due to the mounting pressure from the people who are opposed to the state's division.