Ten wickets fall at same score | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 16, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ten wickets fall at same score

india Updated: Dec 31, 2006 01:41 IST
Highlight Story

Zaid and Tanmay create history

A FREAK record was set on Saturday, the final day of the A W Kanmadikar Trophy match played between the teams of Bhopal and BHEL at Bab-e-Aali Stadium here. BHEL lost their first wicket at the score of 41 — and were also all out on the same score. 

Bhopal won the match by a huge margin of 665 runs. The tournament is played for under-15 boys’ State championship.

Bhopal entered the ground on Saturday with a huge lead of 472 runs. After restricting BHEL to 67 in the first innings, Bhopal skipper Aditya Shrivastava did not force the follow-on. Anupam Toppo, who had failed to score century in Bhopal’s first innings, duly scored a splendid unbeaten 129 that included 23 boundaries in the second innings. Atul Vadichar supported him by scoring 83.

Bhopal declared the second innings at 234  for one immediately after the lunch and set a 706-run target for BHEL. Chasing the target, BHEL opening pair played responsibly and produced 41 run. Nothing seemed out of place and the few spectators present looked forward to a fighting response from BHEL in the second innings. Nobody had even the wildest inkling of what drama was to follow.

Bhopal skipper Shrivastava at this juncture decided to bring in Zaid Khan from the Mimi Clive End. The left-arm spinner Zaid, who had scalped six wickets in the first innings for just five runs, was deadlier this time round. He  scripted history in his three-overs spell. 

He took four wickets in his first over. Medium pacer Tanmay, who was bowling from the other end, provided good support to Zaid. The combination of spin and seams bowling bundled out BHEL at the score of 41.

Zaid claimed six wickets in three overs without conceding a run. Tanmay claimed three wickets. One batsman was run out. According to the official umpires Sailesh Srivas and Navin Rawat, Zaid and Tanmay have created a new record in the cricket history.

Bhopal Divisional Cricket Association (BDCA) Chairman Dhruv Narayan Singh, vice-president Aruneshwar Singhdeo, secretary Dr Shafquat Mohammad Khan, Hamidullah Khan ‘Mamu’ Rajiv Saxena, Sushil Singh, C S Dhakad and others congratulated the team.  

Brief scores:

Bhopal 539 and 234 for one
BHEL 67 and 41