Thane: Independents, MNS may spoil party for Sena-BJP alliance | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 26, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Thane: Independents, MNS may spoil party for Sena-BJP alliance

india Updated: Feb 18, 2012 02:02 IST
Megha Pol

Claiming 62 of the 130 seats, the saffron alliance — comprising the Shiv Sena, the Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) and the Republican Party of India (RPI) — emerged a winner in the Thane Municipal Corporation polls on Friday. The saffron alliance needs four more seats to rule the civic body.

The counting began at 7.30am and the results were out by 12.30pm. While Sena won 53 seats, BJP won eight and RPI one seat to bring their total to 62. The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) won 34 seats, while the Congress won 18, taking their tally to 52. The Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) won seven seats, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) two and seven independent candidates emerged victorious. The Samajwadi Party (SP), however, did not win a single seat in the sixth TMC elections. If the independent candidates and MNS extend their support to the Congress-NCP alliance, the going could get difficult for Sena.

The election results came as a rude shock to mayor probables Devaram Bhoir from NCP and Subhash Bhoir who had quit NCP to join the Sena.

While 81 of the 130 elected representatives are new, 49 of the 72 sitting corporators contesting for the second time have won from different wards.

The election also saw seven couples and relatives from the same family winning from the same ward. Parisha Sarnaik and her son Vihaang Sarnaik, 25, both won from ward no. 16.