They were behind all blasts: Mumbai cops | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

They were behind all blasts: Mumbai cops

india Updated: Sep 25, 2008 00:58 IST
Debasish Panigrahi

Joint Commissioner of Police (crime) Rakesh Maria claimed that the Indian Mujahideen module was responsible for a series of blasts across the country since 2005.

“They are active since 2005 and are practically involved in every blast in the country ever since… either in terms of assistance or actually giving shape and executing them,” Maria said.

Maria said their terror juggernaut started moving in July 2005 when bombs planted by this group in the Shramjivi Express went off while the train was running between the Jaunpur and Sultanpur. Twelve persons were killed.

In March 2006 the group executed a series of blasts in Varanasi that killed 21 persons. They struck again in November 2007 with a series of blasts in Lucknow and Faizabad, which left 13 dead.

The police said the group was also responsible for the serial blasts in New Delhi in October 2005 in which 62 persons were killed and over 100 injured. This was followed by twin blasts at Jama Masjid next year.

The most important strike by the group was the serial train blasts of Mumbai in July 2006. Maria said the group members had identified themselves as Pakistanis to the other (arrested) accused and helped in making and planting the bombs, thepolice said.

They were involved in the twin blasts at Lumbini Park in Hyderabad in August 2007 in which 42 persons were killed. The same year, the group also executed the low intensity blasts at Gorakhpur.

The most recent strikes of the group included the Bangalore blasts of July 2008 and the Ahmadabad serial blasts in September this year. They had also planted 21 bombs in Surat that remained unexploded as the digital timers fitted to the bombs malfunctioned, the police said.

The group, police said, received supplies of explosives from Karnataka through Roshan Khan, one of the three co-founders of the IM.