Three in fray for lone Nagaland LS seat | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Three in fray for lone Nagaland LS seat

india Updated: Apr 04, 2009 16:51 IST
Highlight Story

Three candidates are in fray for the lone Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland after the last date of withdrawal of nomination on Friday, official sources said.

Former Lok Sabha MP Asungba Santum of Congress, Nagaland Peoples Front (NPF) candidate C M Chang and Rilanthung Odyeo contesting on a Trinamool Congress ticket are contesting for the seat which is going to polls on April 16.

According to office of Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) here, nine candidates are contesting for the by-elections to the four assembly segments which will also go to polls the same day.

Assembly segments of Dimapur-III, Chizami and Tuensang Sadar-II are witnessing direct fight between the ruling NPF and the opposition Congress while triangular contest is expected in Tizit.