Tirkey lone Indian in FIH all-star team | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 20, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Tirkey lone Indian in FIH all-star team

india Updated: Dec 19, 2007 21:28 IST
All Star Awards

Seasoned defender Dilip Tirkey is the only Indian to find a place in the prestigious 2007 men's all-star team announced by the International Hockey Federation on Wednesday.

Among the selected 18 players, Tirkey is one of the few to have played more than 300 international matches.

World champions Germany, Netherlands and Australia are represented by four players each while Spain has two. India, Pakistan, Korea and New Zealand have one player each in the all-star team.

Australian Jamie Dwyer has been nominated captain while Dutchmen Maurits Hendriks and Roelant Oltmans are the coaches.

All-star Team:

Germany - Matthias Witthaus, Tibor Weissenborn, Moritz Fuerste and Ulrich Bubolz (Gk);

Australia - Jamie Dwyer (c), Brent Livermore, Bevan George, Mark Knowles;

Netherlands - Guus Vogels (Gk), Taeke Taekema, Teun de Nooijer, Robert van der Horst;

Spain - Sergi Enrique, Eduard Tubau;

India - Dilip Tirkey;

New Zealand - Ryan Archibald;

Korea - Jong Ho Seo