Turncoats get lucky: Several feature in BJP, JMM poll lists

  • Gautam Mazumdar, Hindustan Times, Ranchi
  • Updated: Nov 04, 2014 00:22 IST

Political turncoats in Jharkhand have got lucky as the candidate lists announced by both the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) have the names of several leaders who have switched allegiances in the recent past.

The BJP has given tickets to three Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) MLAs out of the seven who joined the party after general election. Likewise, two leaders Hemlal Murmu and Simon Marandi, former ministers in the Hemant Soren cabinet, who quit the JMM and joined the BJP, are being fielded from Barhet and Litipara respectively.

The BJP has roped in sitting Congress MLA from Bhawnathpur, Anant Pratap Deo, as their candidate for the same seat.

BJP spokesperson, Pradeep Sinha, said a few turncoats have been preferred as their chances of winning are higher.

The JMM too has included three sitting MLAs and two former legislators of other parties.

The sitting MLAs who have been given JMM tickets are Hari Narayan Rai (INDP MLA from Jarmundi), JVM-P MLA from Dhanwar Nizamuddin Ansari and Trinamool Congress MLA from Bishunpur Chamra Linda. The former legislators of other parties figured in the JMM first list are former minister Joba Manjhi and former Congress legislator Niel Tirkey.

Hemant Soren, Jharkhand chief minister and JMM vice-president, dismissed the Modi wave and said the JMM had an advantage being a regional party.

also read

BSF soldier, injured in Pak firing in Jammu’s RS Pura, dies
Show comments