UD dept finalises boundaries of 51 unauthorised colonies | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

UD dept finalises boundaries of 51 unauthorised colonies

india Updated: Aug 03, 2011 00:04 IST
HT Correspondent

The urban development (UD) department of the Delhi government has finalised the boundaries of 51 unauthorised colonies. It has also put the matter in public domain to invite objections from citizens.

The move comes in as a part of the Delhi government's plans to regularise 1,639 colonies.

While 22 of these colonies are located in east Delhi, 17 are in north east Delhi. While north Delhi has seven such colonies, west Delhi has three and the city's south west district has two.

Senior UD officials said tentative boundaries have been fixed by a special committee. "The MCD has already approved the layout plans of these colonies. After considering the objections that we will receive, these colonies will be sent to the MCD's standing committee for approval," a senior UD official said.

Just before the 2009 assembly elections, the Delhi government had distributed provisional regularisation certificates to 1,639 unauthorised colonies.

However, only 1,180 colonies were later found fit enough for regularisation, while there were several objections from various departments on the remaining 459 colonies.

Senior UD officials now say that the MCD and the UD department are working on preparing layout plans, fixing boundaries and talking to the RWAs of the remaining 1,129 colonies.