Understanding Commonwealth | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Understanding Commonwealth

india Updated: Nov 12, 2009 15:58 IST
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The Commonwealth Games is a multinational, multi-sport event that is held every four years. The Games include the elite athletes of the Commonwealth of Nations, as many as 5,000.

Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) directs and controls the Commonwealth Games.

First Commonwealth Games were held in 1930 in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, known as British Empire Games. It later changed to British Empire, then to Commonwealth Games in 1954, then to British Commonwealth Games in 1970 and finally in 1978 adopted its current name, the Commonwealth Games.


There are currently 53 members of the Commonwealth of Nations, and 71 teams participate in the Games.

The next edition will be held in 2010 in Delhi, India.