UP bypolls: SP retains Bilari, Jangipur seats, Cong forfeits deposit | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

UP bypolls: SP retains Bilari, Jangipur seats, Cong forfeits deposit

india Updated: May 24, 2016 12:17 IST
Uttar Pradesh bypolls

Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav shares stage with Samajwadi Party workers at a public meeting in Ballia.(PTI)

Ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) in Uttar Pradesh retained Bilari and Jangipur assembly seats in the bypolls held on May 16. The BJP finished second in both the constituencies.

The Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) did not contest the bypolls in which both Congress candidates forfeited their security deposit.

From Bilari (Moradabad/Shamli) seat, SP candidate Mohammad Fahim, who got 9,044 votes, won with a margin of 7,063 votes against his nearest rival BJP’s Suresh Saini, officials said.

From Jangipur (Ghazipur), SP candidate Kismati Devi won with a margin of 22,092 votes against her nearest rival BJP candidate Ramesh Singh, they added.

Kismati Devi got 82,316 votes, while Singh secured 60,224 votes.

The Congress candidate in Jangipur secured only 6,852 votes and remained at fourth slot, while local Bhartiya Samaj Party candidate Dinesh Maurya got more votes (8,925 votes) than him.

In Bilari, the performance of Congress was worse with its candidate Shishupal Singh securing only 3,670 votes only. Both the Congress candidates forfeited their deposits after failing to secure 1/6th of the total valid votes polled, as stipulated by the election commission.

The Jangipur seat fell vacant after sitting MLA and cabinet minister Kailash Yadav died of a brain hemorrhage in February, while bypoll in Bilari was necessitated due to the death of 64-year-old Haji Irfan in a road accident on March 10.