UP Speaker disqualifies four SP MLAs | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 30, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

UP Speaker disqualifies four SP MLAs

india Updated: Aug 20, 2006 00:13 IST

Uttar Pradesh Speaker Mata Prasad Pandey on Saturday disqualified four MLAs of the ruling Samajwadi Party from the membership of the state assembly under the Anti-Defection Act for voting for BSP candidates in the recent Rajya Sabha biennial polls in the state.

Pandey said violation of the SP whip to vote for the party or party-supported candidates in the RS polls by the four MLAs - Omvati Devi, Sunderlal, Aratan Lal Ahirwar and Kalyan Singh Doahre - tantamount to voluntarily leaving the party attracting the disqualification clause in the tenth schedule.