UP technical varsity split into two | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

UP technical varsity split into two

india Updated: May 03, 2010 23:15 IST
Kapil Datta

The Uttar Pradesh Technical University (UPTU) is no more. The state government has bifurcated it and formed Maha Maya Technical University for engineering and management colleges in western UP and Gautam Buddha Technical University for the rest of the state.

“UPTU Noida Extension Centre at Sector 62 will be the office of the new Maha Maya Technical University,” said Kripa Shanker, Vice-Chancellor, UPTU.

“It will start functioning from July. The state government has issued the notification and the new university has come into being from May 1. Recruitment of Registrar and other staff are being done.”

Shanker will serve as the vice-chancellor of both UPTU and Maha Maya Technical University till a new V.C. is appointed.

“UPTU has over 500 colleges. More than 300 were in western U.P. The state government felt handling a large number of colleges by a single university was not advisable as it was adding additional burden to staff. Therefore the decision to bifurcate UPTU was taken in February,” Shanker said.

“Besides, the Gautam Budha Technical University extension centre will also function from the Noida premises,” he said.

“All ongoing projects of UPTU will be carried forward. These include virtual classrooms, digital labs, digital libraries, placement centers and other projects,” he said.