Uttarakhand: Congress wins all seats | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Uttarakhand: Congress wins all seats

india Updated: May 17, 2009 03:12 IST
HT Correspondent

In an unprecedented result, the Congress won all five seats of Uttarakhand with a sizeable margin on most. On May 13, the state had witnessed 53.96 per cent polling —was up by around 6 per cent from the 2004 Lok Sabha polls.

Counting for the five seats of Almora, Nainital, Pauri, Tehri and Haridwar was held at 14 centres in the state including Uttarkashi, Gopeshwar and Dehradun, Pithoragarh, Bageshwar, Almora, Champawat, Haldwani and Rudrapur. Right from the beginning Congress lead on all the seats by 5-0.

In between, Ajay Tamta of the BJP did take the lead for a short while but his rival Pradeep Tamta of the Congress soon regained it.

On the Tehri seat, Vijay Bahuguna of the congress maintained a lead over Jaspal Rana of BJP by over fifty two thousand votes. As far as the Pauri seat was concerned, Satpal Maharaj of the Congress had the lead over Lt. Gen (retd) TPS Rawat of the Bharatiya Janata Party by over twenty thousand votes.