Vaiko files nomination from Virudhunagar LS constituency | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Vaiko files nomination from Virudhunagar LS constituency

india Updated: Apr 23, 2009 19:33 IST
Highlight Story

MDMK leader Vaiko, whose party is contesting the May 13 Lok Sabha elections in Tamil Nadu as a constituent of the AIADMK-led front, on Thursday filed his nomination from Virudhunagar constituency.

Vaiko, against whom a sedition case has been registered recently for his pro-LTTE speech, is pitted against Manik Tagore of Congress, DMDK's K Pandiarajan and actor-politician M Karthik of Naadalum Makkal Katchi, which is contesting the polls in alliance with BJP.

Virudhunagar has been carved out during the delimitation exercise in place of Sivakasi, a seat won by Vaiko in 1998 and 1999.

Vaiko, a staunch supporter of LTTE, did not contest the 2004 Lok Sabha elections but the Sivakasi seat was retained by his party candidate Sippiparai Ravichandran.

His party had won four seats in the last elections when it contested as an ally of the DMK-led alliance. He later switched over to the AIADMK-led front and the party is contesting four of the 39 Lok Sabha seats in the state in the May 13 polls.

Besides Vaiko, Karthik and Pandiarajan also filed their nominations today before District Collector and Election Officer K Raghupathy.

Vaiko is the last among the candidates of the AIADMK-led front to file the nominations. All others have filed their papers on April 20, but he could not join them as he was to appear in the Madras High Court on that day in connection with a case challenging the detention of party leader Nanjil K Sampath under the National Security Act.