Veragi no-balled, coach wants more clarity on issue | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 20, 2017-Monday
-°C
New Delhi
  • Humidity
    -
  • Wind
    -

Veragi no-balled, coach wants more clarity on issue

india Updated: Nov 03, 2009 23:46 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Paras Mhambrey

Baroda coach, Paras Mhambrey, turned sombre the moment umpires no-balled Salim Veragi for the second time in the match against Delhi. Apart from being concerned about the fast bowler, the coach must have started to worry about his welfare as well.

According to the new BCCI rules on ‘throwing’, a coach can also find himself in trouble if a bowler of his team is called twice for chucking in one season. “I don’t want to comment on this clause. The BCCI must have seen some merit in fixing the responsibility on coaches as well,” said Mhambrey.

He, however, agreed that the whole issue of no-balling bowlers needed further clearance. “I think a bowler should either be allowed to bowl or stopped altogether. If he gets clearance from the NCA on the pretext that his arm bends within permissible limits, then it becomes subjective. We need much more clarity on this issue,” he said.

And what does the new rule hold for the bowler? “The bowler would be reported immediately to the BCCI after he’s called the first time. He, however, can continue to ball until he’s called thrice in the same innings. He would immediately be taken off after that for that innings,” explained match referee Sunil Chaturvedi.

He said a three-member panel would see the bowler’s footage and if they feel the need for corrective measure, the bowler will be called to the NCA.

“But if he is called again after having gone through corrective measures twice at the NCA, he wouldn’t be allowed to bowl again,” he said.