Violence-free bypoll in Bihar | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Violence-free bypoll in Bihar

india Updated: Sep 11, 2009 02:29 IST
Highlight Story

The by-poll in seven assembly constituencies on Thursday passed off peacefully barring some stray incidents of poll boycotts witnessed at nine booths in Aurai, Bochaha, Ramgarh constituencies. The percentage of polling recorded was 42 per cent, which was relatively higher than expected considering the general disinterest among voters witnessed during campaigning.

Highest poll percentage was registered in Chainpu( 51 per cent) while lowest poll percentage was recorded n Aurai in Muzaffarpur district.

Incidentally, polling in one booth in Ramgarh assembly constituency and four booths in Chainpur could not start at the scheduled time (7 am) due to the failure of the polling party to reach the booths.

The polling parties fauled to reach the booths due to the flash floods in the Gehuwanawan river following the incessant rains on Wednesday. A re-poll in all four booths will be held, after an approval from the Election Commission.

Poll boycotts were also witnessed at several constituencies. Reports said that people boycotted the polls at booths no (2,4,6) in Aurai assembly constituency and booth no (97,98,99) in Bochaha assembly constituency in protest against the poor condition of roads, non-payment of compensation against the damage of houses in floods and lack of other basic amenites. People also boycotted polls to protest against lack of basic amenities at two booths in Ramgarh assembly seat, sources said.

Reports also said that EVMs had developed technical snag at three booths during the polls. Joint chief electoral officer, Kumar Anshumali said that altogether seven persons were arrested during the polls on charges of disrupting the poll process. The arrests were made in Kaimur, Rohtas and Samastipur districts.

The by-election in seven constituencies was held to fill up the seats, which had fallen vacant due to the resignation put by the sitting members. The counting of the votes will be held on September 17. The second round of by-polls for 11 assembly constituencies will be held on September 15.