Walavalkar, Sundar star on second round of NRC Chennai | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Walavalkar, Sundar star on second round of NRC Chennai

india Updated: Aug 27, 2012 00:38 IST
Nilankur Das
Nilankur Das
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story


After things went wrong in Coimbatore and then here on Day 1, Ashwin Sundar had something to cheer about on the final day of the JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championships.

The Dark Don Racing driver won the Race 2 of the LGB Formula 4 category on Sunday and is now third on the overall drivers’ race. Sundar had finished second in the first race on Saturday and complained of a restart decision, but on Sunday, he quickly shot into the lead after the first turn and stayed there for the rest of the race.

Saran Vikram who had won on the first day spun out trying to get his nose ahead of Sundar in the first lap and fell back to 10th position. He recovered to fifth midway but again went off the track to finish 16th. So, with no one really pushing him, Sundar the Chennai lad, made a cool finish at the Madras Motor Race Track.

Sudarshan Rao of Rayo Racing climbed to the top of the overall drivers’ standings with a third-place finish on Sunday. Teammate Varun Nathwani, who finished second, is also second on the drivers’ competition.

“Parts of the track were really slippery after the rains. But the rains had also reduced the track temperature. So it was good,” Sundar said after the win.

Mumbai’s Ameya Walavalkar started from the pole to win the first race of the JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup but finished second in the second race starting from altered grid position. Bangalore’s Ajay Kini initially won the race but was given a 20-second penalty. Mihir Dharkar was awarded the race.

LGB Formula 4 (Race 2): 1. Ashwin Sundar 22.00.192 (Dark Don Racing); 2. Varun Nathwani 22.06.269 (Rayo Racing); Sudarshan Rao 22.07.393 (Rayo Racing).

Championship leaderboard: 1. Sudarshan Rao (Rayo Racing) 66 points; 2. Varun Nathwani (Rayo Racing) 46 pts; 3. Ashwin Sundar (Dark Don Racing) 43 pts.

JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup (Race1): 1. Ameya Walavalkar 20.30.378; 2. Sailesh Bolisetti 20:32.018; 3. A Sandeep Kumar 20:39.259.

JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup (Race2): 1. Mihir Dharkar 20.40.432; 2. Ameya Walavalkar 20.40.434 3 Sailesh Bolisetti 20.40.978.

The writer’s trip is sponsored by JK Tyre