Write against injustice: Jakhar to scribes | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Write against injustice: Jakhar to scribes

india Updated: Oct 31, 2006 16:11 IST

THE FIRST convocation ceremony of Makhanlal Chaturvedi University of Journalism and Communication was held at the Vidhan Sabha auditorium the State capital on Monday. Governor Dr Balram Jakhar was the chief guest on the occasion in absence of Vice-President Bhairon Singh Shekhawat, whose Bhopal visit had to be cancelled at the last minute. State Assembly Speaker Ishwardas Rohani was also present at the function.

In his address, Governor Dr Jakhar said journalists in the pre-Independence era used their writings to inspire people to fight against colonial rule and journalists of the present era should also use pen to inspire people for nation-building.

Talking of distortions that have crept in politics, journalism, education and other fields, he said the new generation of journalists should not deviate from sticking to right path. The journalists should raise their voice against injustice, he added.

He hoped that students of the Makhanlal Chaturvedi University would draw inspiration from life and writings of Makhanlal Chaturvedi and use their writings as a weapon to awaken the soul of countrymen.

Earlier, Governor formally inaugurated the ceremony by garlanding the portrait of Godess Saraswati. More than 600 students from different disciplines of journalism, mass communication and computer education were given with degrees. University Vice-Chancellor Achyutanand Mishra administered the convocation oath.

Honrary degree of D Lit was conferred on Narayan Dutta and Krishna Bihari Mishra. Devvrat Singh and Prakash Narayan Das were given Ph.D  degrees.

Silver medial were also given to five students, who topped in their respective courses in 2005. They include Priynka Tyagi, who received Acharya medal, Abhay, who received Prashant medal, Indrani Das, who was given Geetanjali Makan medal, Dev Shree Mohanti M G Vaidya medal and Saumya Chandra, who received Hariprasad Chaturvedi medal.

University Executive Director O P Dubey proposed the vote of thanks. Members of the university’s general council and academic council, eminent journalists, BJP MP Kailash Joshi, Minister for Industries and Commerce Babulal Gaur, BJP State president Satyanarayan Jatia and other dignitaries attended the function.