Yeddyurappa wins third trust vote | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Yeddyurappa wins third trust vote

india Updated: Jun 02, 2011 23:11 IST

Karnataka chief minister BS Yeddyurappa on Thursday won a trust vote in the state assembly — his third in nine months — even as the entire opposition refrained from participating in the procedure.

The BJP government won the confidence motion, moved by the chief minister on the first day of the 10-day budget session, with 119 votes in his favour and no one opposing it in the 225-member assembly.

The main opposition Congress, which has 71 members, staged a walkout soon after the motion was moved, along with six independent members.

The other opposition party, the JD-S, which has 26 MLAs, boycotted the proceedings.

Yeddyurappa moved the trust motion, although there was no demand by the opposition or any directive by Governor HR Bhardwaj.

By proving that his party enjoyed the majority of the house, Yeddyurappa aimed to put an end to the opposition onslaught that had gained momentum after the Supreme Court recently quashed speaker KG Bopaiah’s order disqualifying 11 BJP MLAs and six independent MLAs, who had rebelled against the chief minister last October.

Bhardwaj had recommended imposition of President’s Rule after the court order. The Centre, however, rejected it.

The 11 BJP members, whose rebellion reduced the ministry to a minority, have since returned to the party taking its tally to 120 in the House.

“I moved the confidence motion to demonstrate that we have a comfortable majority... as even the 11 legislators...recently have extended unconditional support to my government,” an elated Yeddyurappa said.

(With agency inputs)