Complaints of mismanagement force admin to change shahi snan timings | indore | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Complaints of mismanagement force admin to change shahi snan timings

indore Updated: May 03, 2016 19:19 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
shahi snan

Ram Ghat of river Kshipra was crowded on first parv snan of Simhastha fair on Tuesday. (HT photo)

With sadhus as well as pilgrims expressing unhappiness over “mismanagement” during the first shahi snan at Simhastha, the administration has advanced the timings of the second shahi snan on May 9 by two hours.

The second shahi snan will commence at 4 am, and all the akharas will get one hour slot, instead of 30 minutes earlier, to complete the bath and other rituals.

The bathing of sadhus and their disciples on the prescribed auspicious days during the Kumbh is called rajyogi snan or shahi snan (royal holy dip).

Seven akharas will take holy dip into the Kshipra river at the Datt Akhara Ghat and the remaining six at the Ram Ghat. Pilgrims will be allowed to take holy dip at these ghats only after 12 pm.

Representatives of Nirmal Akhara, which has been given 11 am-noon slot, were initially unhappy with the timings but were later placated by members of the Akahra Parishad and the administration.

On the first shahi snan on April 22, thousands of pilgrims managed to take holy dip at the Ram Ghat early in the morning. The resultant chaos and other incidents of mismanagement angered the sadhus.

Akhara Parishad chief Narendra Giri subsequently issued an ultimatum to the state government to improve the management or face boycott by all the akharas.

“We have taken a series of measures to improve parking arrangements and ensure better crowd management during the second shahi snan. All the akharas have approved the new timings of the shahi snan,” Ujjain district collector Kavindra Kiyawat said.

New timings of second shahi snan

4 am–5 am: Juna Akhara, Agni Akhara, Avhan Akhara

5 a m–6 am: Niranjani Akhara, Anand Akhara

6 am–7 am: Mahanirvani Akhara, Atal Akhara

7–10 am: Digambar Ani, Nirvani Ani Akhara, Nirmohi

10 am–11 am: Bada Udaseen, Naya Udaseen Akhara

11 am–noon: Nirmal Akhara