Indore BJP unit targets to win mayoral election by 5.25 lakh votes | indore | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Indore BJP unit targets to win mayoral election by 5.25 lakh votes

indore Updated: Nov 04, 2014 19:44 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

The city BJP unit has set a target of winning mayoral elections by a margin of 5.25 lakh votes. City BJP president Kailash Sharma mooted this proposal at the party's core committee meeting on Monday.

Mayor Krishna Murari Moghe, who spoke about his achievements of last four and half years before three party MLAs and key office-bearers at BJP's core committee meeting endorsed the target. The three MLAs present on the occasion were Sudarshan Gupta, Usha Thakur and Malini Gaud.

The mayor's speech was aimed to apprise party MLAs and party office-bearers to know how BJP-led Indore Municipal Corporation developed city's civic infrastructure. During the course of his speech, Moghe asked MLAs to take corporation's achievements to the voters.

Also, on the agenda was BJP's membership drive which national BJP president Amit Shah emphasised on while delivering the keynote address in Bhopal on Friday. However, BJP called off its membership drive for the time being after receiving directives from the state unit to this effect.

According to the party office-bearers, the state BJP unit is waiting for Indore high court bench order slated for November 7, which will decide whether Indore will go to polls with 69 or 85 wards. But, deliberations on ticket distribution will continue within the party.

The ticket distribution to select candidates from every municipal ward is done at two levels. The district election committee, which comprises MLAs among others, makes recommendations to divisional-level committee, which finally decides the name of candidate to be given ticket from every municipal ward.

For choosing mayoral candidate, the divisional committee makes recommendation to BJP's state election management committee which decides the name for mayoral candidate of each city.