Madhya Pradesh: BJP's revamped state executive meet on April 9

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Bhopal
  • Updated: Apr 04, 2015 19:19 IST

Madhya Pradesh Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Nand Kumar Singh Chauhan on Friday announced the party would hold a two-day state executive meet in Bhopal from April 9.

The BJP’s two-day national executive meet is underway in Bengaluru.

Though there is no pressing issue likely to be discussed at the meet, it would be the first meeting for newly inducted members of the state executive under Nand Kumar Singh Chauhan.

Sources said the scheduled meeting is according to the party constitution that allows an executive body to meet every three months.

The meet is likely to pass political resolutions seeking greater support for farmers affected by the last month’s untimely rain and hail, sources added.

The party is also expected to praise the state government’ efforts towards providing relief to the affected farmers.

The meet may also discuss ways to take on the Congress on the proposed Land Acquisition Act. The executive is also likely to ratify the decisions of the previous executive meet and discuss party’s membership drive, members’ lifelong contribution to the party and other programmes.

The state BJP chief will chair the meet while party’s national vice-president Vinay Sahasrabuddhe and chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan would be special invitees.

A meeting of organisational general secretaries and district presidents would be held alongside the meet.

"The party was busy with urban bodies and panchayat elections. There are always political issues in the state that need to be discussed," said BJP spokesperson Vishwas Sarang.

Last month, the state BJP president had tweaked the existing state executive by formally announcing the discontinuation of the leaders in the executive who had become ministers. He inducted some other leaders against the vacancies.

Some of those who ceased to be members of the state executive included state ministers Maya Singh, Yashodhara Raje, Lal Singh Arya and Bhupendra Singh.

Those who were appointed office-bearers against vacancies include former MLA Dhruv Narayan Singh, Vijesh Lunawat, Manoranjan Mishra as vice-presidents, Arvind Singh Bhadoria and Ajay Pratap Singh as general secretaries.

also read

Sanitation workers attack Alirajpur chief municipal officer
Show comments