Ranji Trophy: 16 wkts fall on Day 1, MP poised to take lead | indore | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ranji Trophy: 16 wkts fall on Day 1, MP poised to take lead

indore Updated: Nov 23, 2015 21:47 IST
Ranji Trophy

Mumbai skipper Ankit Tare caught off Ankit Sharma on the opening day of Ranji match between Mumbai and Madhya Pradesh in Indore on Monday.(Shankar Mourya/ HT photo)

With sixteen wickets falling on the opening day of four-day Group B Ranji Trophy match between Mumbai and Madhya Pradesh, home team is poised to take first innings lead here at Indore’s Holkar Stadium.

At stumps, visiting Mumbai team reeling at 74 for six, still trailed 166 runs behind Madhya Pradesh first innings total.

Electing to bat first, half century knock by middle order batsman Harpreet Singh (59) and last wicket 56 run partnership between Ishwar Pandey (35) and Mihir Hirwani (17 not out) helped Madhya Pradesh to cross 200 run mark, before home team was reduced to 184 for nine wickets.

In the morning session, Madhya Pradesh captain Devendra Bundela elected to bat first after winning the toss. Mumbai bowlers tasted two early success as Shardul Thakur and Vishal Dabholkar claimed the wickets of Aditya Shrivastava (07) and Jalaj Saxena (16) respectively.

Change in bowling brought success for Mumbai

However, Rajat Patidar and wicket-keeper batsman Naman Ojha shared 35 runs for third wicket and avoided any further damage for next one hour. But change in bowling once again brought success for Mumbai as Patidar (26) was caught by Shreyas Iyer off Iqbal Abdulla, while Ojha (15) was caught by Akhil Herwadkar off Ankush Jaiswal.

After losing two quick wickets, Madhya Pradesh struggled with the bat in the opening session. However, they had crossed the 100-run mark.

Home team kicked off their afternoon session on a disappointing note as they lost wicket of skipper Devendra Bundela for 14. With Harpreet inching towards his half-century, half of the team was back to the pavilion. Few overs later, Rameez Khan (23) lost his wicket to Jay Bista.

56-run partnership for last wicket

Later, Madhya Pradesh lost three quick wickets and they were down to nine at 184 runs. But 56 runs last wicket partnership between Ishwar Pandey and Mihir Hirwani helped Madhya Pradesh cross 200 mark as home team were bundled out at 240.

Harpreet, the highest scorer for Madhya Pradesh, made gallant 59 runs, while Pandey scored precious 35 runs for his team. For Mumbai, Ankush Jaiswal claimed four for 46.

Jalaj, Ankit claim 3 wkts each for MP

For Mumbai, opening pair of Akhil Herwadkar and Jay Bista gave visiting team good start as Mumbai scored 39 runs in 9.4 over. But wicket of Herwadkar and later Bista opened the floodgates as Mumbai lost six wickets for 74 runs.

Jalaj Saxena and Ankit Sharma claimed three wickets each conceding 32 and 39 runs respectively. With visiting team still trailing behind 166 runs behind, second day opening session turn out to be crucial for both Madhya Pradesh and Mumbai. Victory not only give home team full point, but also consolidate their position for knock-out round as just one match to go.


MADHYA PRADESH I INNINGS: A Shrivastava b Thakur 7, Jalaj S Saxena lbw b Dabholkar 16, R Patidar cIyer b Iqbal Abdulla 26, N Ojha† c Herwadkar b Jaiswal 15, Harpreet Singh c †Tare b Jaiswal 59, D Bundela b Thakur 14, Rameez Khan c Yadav b Bista 23, Ankit Sharma c †Tare b Jaiswal 9, S Jain c Iyer b Jaiswal 0, I Pandey c Yadav b Dabholkar 35, M Hirwani not out 17.

EXTRAS: 19 (b 19)

TOTAL: 240 all out in 75.1 overs.

FALLS: 1-14, 2-28, 3-63, 4-69, 5-131, 6-171, 7-183, 8-183, 9-184, 10-240.

BOWLING: S Thakur 15-4-42-2, V Dabholkar 19.1-3-59-2, Iqbal Abdulla 13-3-29-1, A Jaiswal 19-4-63-4, S Lad 3-0-12-0, J Bista 6-1-16-1.

MUMBAI I INNINGS: A Herwadkar b Ankit Sharma 17, J Bista c Shrivastava b Jalaj S Saxena 27, S Iyer c †Ojha b Jalaj S Saxena 1, S Yadav lbw b Jalaj S Saxena 2, A Tare*† c Patidar b Ankit Sharma 0, S Lad b Ankit Sharma 13, N Patil not out 10, Iqbal Abdulla not out 0.

EXTRAS: 4 (lb 3, nb 1)

TOTAL: 74 for six wickets in 21 overs at stumps

FALLS: 1-39, 2-46, 3-47, 4-50, 5-50, 6-69.

BOWLING: Jalaj S Saxena 11-2-32-3, Ankit Sharma 10-2-39-3.

Tata Tea’s Anthem of apathy
Partnered feature