IPL: Delhi Daredevils defeat Mumbai Indians by 10 runs | ipl$mi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 16, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

IPL: Delhi Daredevils defeat Mumbai Indians by 10 runs

ipl Updated: Apr 23, 2016 20:07 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Delhi Daredevils batsman Sanju Samson plays a shot during the 2016 Indian Premier League (IPL). (AFP Photo)

Mumbai Indians won the toss and decided to field first against Delhi Daredevils on Saturday.

Delhi Daredevils will be keen to extend their new-found momentum by winning the third consecutive Indian Premier League (IPL) match when they clash against Mumbai Indians in New Delhi on Saturday.

Daredevils, helmed by new skipper Zaheer Khan, began with a bump, getting beaten by Kolkata Knight Riders, raising fears of yet another disappointing campaign that has been their story in the short history of the IPL tournament But unlike previous editions, the Daredevils have found an answer to overturn their false start, beating Kings XI Punjab and Royal Challengers Bangalore subsequently.

Mumbai have been a victim of their inconsistency, incidentally also winning against Punjab and Bangalore.The defending champions, however, served error-ridden performances to go down against Rising Pune Supergiants, Gujarat Lions and Sunrisers Hyderabad. They have struggled to hit any rhythm but showed signs of getting their act together while successfully chasing 171 against Bangalore.

Delhi Daredevils: de Kock(w), Shreyas,Samson, Karun, Jean-Paul Duminy, Pawan Negi, Chris Morris, Mishra, Zaheer(c), Shami, Tahir.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit (C), Parthiv (w), Rayudu, Buttler, Pollard, Hardik, Krunal, Harbhajan, Southee, McClenaghan, Bumrah.