17 MPs from Rajasthan to make a debut in Parliament | jaipur | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 21, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

17 MPs from Rajasthan to make a debut in Parliament

jaipur Updated: May 19, 2009 11:02 IST
Highlight Story

Seventeen first-time MPs from Congress and BJP will represent Rajasthan in Parliament this time.

The new faces in the House will have 14 MPs from Congress, two from BJP and one independent.

The Congress MPs who will make their debut in Parliament, include Jitendra Singh (Alwar), Harish Choudhary (Barmer), Ratan Singh (Bharatpur) and Bharat Ram Meghwal (Ganganagar-SC).

The two newcomers from the BJP are Arjun Ram Meghwal (Bikaner) and Devji Patel (Jalore), and one independent Kirori Meena (Dausa).

Besides, three of the five women candidates fielded by the Congress also won at the hustings.

Girja Vyas won the Chittorgarh seat by defeating sitting BJP MP Srichand Kripalini. The other two are Chandresh Kumari from Jodhpur and Jyoti Mirdha from Nagaur seat who defeated Jaswant Singh Vishnoi and Bindu Choudhary of BJP respectively.

Chandresh Kumari, who was a former Himachal Pradesh minister, is a member of the Jodhpur royal family.

The old faces who retained their seats are Union Minister for Mines Sheesh Ram Ola, who won from Jhunjhunu, and Minister of State for Forest and Environment Namonarayan Meena from Tonk-Swaimadhopur.