2015 to be observed as Road Safety Year | jaipur | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

2015 to be observed as Road Safety Year

jaipur Updated: Feb 24, 2015 13:13 IST
HT Correspondent

The state government has declared 2015 as the Road Safety Year and a campaign would be launched in the entire state after the budget session to make people in villages aware about road safety, transport and public works minister Yunus Khan announced here on Monday.

He was speaking at the inaugural function of 26th Road Safety Week at Albert Hall here.

The minister said, "Road safety is a serious subject and it is the responsibility of all of us to stop human loss in large number in road accidents in the state." He said chief minister Vasundhara Raje is "very sensitive" about road safety and three days ago she has formed a cabinet sub-committee to look into the issue. Ministers of transport, panchayati raj, home and some other departments would discuss the issue and come out with a plan, he added.http://www.hindustantimes.com/Images/popup/2015/2/2402jaipur2.jpg

Khan said the transport department has prepared a road safety kit for panchayats, which includes a compact disc (CD). The CD will be shown to people at 9,000 gram panchayat headquarters to make people aware about the traffic rules, he added. The minister also administered the oath of road safety to officers, NCC cadets and representatives of NGOs working in the field of road safety on the occasion. Minister of state for transport Babu Lal Verma released the road safety kit to be distributed in the gram panchayats. Posters on various subjects related to road safety were also released.

Sasntha Rasrang staged a play ‘Yamraj ki Seekh’, while 70 students of Tagore Public School staged ‘ Mrityu Dand’. Khan and Verma flagged off a vehicle rally of Sahas motorcyclists, vintage cars and driving schools. Additional director general of police Pradeep Vyas, roadways managing director Bhaskar A Sawant, transport commissioner and secretary Gayatri A Rathore, deputy commissioner of police (traffic) Hyder Zaidi, Jaipur Development Authority secretary Pawan Arora, additional transport commissioner (administration) Dr Manisha Arora, additional transport commissioner (road safety) Hans Kumar Sharma and other department officers, roadways officers and representatives of various institutions were present.