Barmer: six-decade-old Congress reign continues

  • Mukesh Mathrani, Hindustan Times, Barmer
  • Updated: Feb 08, 2015 12:39 IST

Congress once again continued its reign in its six-decade-old stronghold in Barmer, with candidate Priyanka Meghwal winning zila pramukh elections by seven votes against Bharatiya Janata Party’s Nirmala.

Earlier, it seemed quite tough for the BJP to win the zila pramukh polls as the Congress won 23 seats of the total 37 seats. Not losing hope, the BJP relied on cross voting and fielded its candidate in the zila pramukh polls. However, the party was successful to get benefit of one crossed vote from the Congress but failed to win the elections. Apart from this, the Congress also won 11 of the total 17 pradhan seats in Barmer.

In Barmer, Congress won at pradhan elections at Baytu Gairon Devi, Gida Laxmanram Delu, Sedwa Padmaram, Dhorimanna Tajaram, Gadara Road Tejaram, Ramsar Mehron, Dhanau Bhagwati Meghwal, Balotara Omaram, Siwana Garima Rajpurohit and Patodi Rashida Bano. This time, both the parties got the advantage of cross voting which helped them ensure victory in several seats in panchayat samiti in Barmer. The ruling BJP benefitted from cross voting at Chouhtan panchayat samiti in Barmer where despite winning 11 seats of total 21 seats Congress lost the pradhan seat.

also read

Rajasthan: Cops douse pyre, pull out body to probe suspicious death
Show comments