BJP goes all out in Rajasthan | jaipur | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP goes all out in Rajasthan

jaipur Updated: Aug 29, 2014 21:50 IST
Rajasthan by-polls

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP national president Amit Shah, Union home minister Rajnath Singh and Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan are among the BJP leaders who will be campaigning for party candidates in the upcoming assembly by-elections in Rajasthan.

The BJP has submitted to the Election Commission a list of 40 leaders who will be seen garnering support for party candidates from four assembly seats - Nasirabad, Kota South, Surajgarh and Weir - that will go to the by-polls on September 13.

The names in the list indicate that the ruling party is not taking these elections lightly, particularly after its poor showing in by-polls in four states recently.

The star campaigners’ list also includes chief minister Vasundhara Raje, veteran leader Lal Krishna Advani and Union ministers Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Nitin Gadkari and Venkaiah Naidu.

Key campaigners from the state are state BJP president Ashok Parnami, panchayati raj minister Gulab Chand Kataria, tribal area development minister Nand Lal Meena, education minister Kalicharan Saraf, health minister Rajendra Rathore and agriculture minister Prabhu Lal Saini. State BJP spokesperson Kailash Nath Bhatt said that after the last date of withdrawal of nominations on August 30, the party would start its poll campaign from September 1.

The four seats became vacant after the sitting BJP MLAs were elected to the Lok Sabha. The September 13 poll contest is mainly between the BJP and the Congress as almost all the smaller parties have pulled out of the fray.