BJP leaders hold meet, but Rajasthan names still under wraps | jaipur | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP leaders hold meet, but Rajasthan names still under wraps

jaipur Updated: Mar 12, 2014 23:48 IST
Highlight Story

BJP senior leaders, including CM Vasundhara Raje, on Wednesday held a one-on-one meeting with party leaders to zero in on the names of candidates the 25 parliamentary constituencies of the state.

CM Vasundhara Raje, national secretary Bhupender Yadav and state BJP president Ashok Parnami held talks with representatives from 22 parliamentary constituencies. The meeting was held at Alsisar Haveli in Jaipur.

However, no leaders or MLAs revealed the names of the candidates listed on the panel.

The list has been finalised and the manes would be put by the central leadership at the Delhi. The first list of candidates will be announced on March 18, after central election committee meeting of BJP in Delhi.

PWD minister Yunus Khan said, “It is the right of everybody to demand tickets. Feedback is being taken from the common worker of the party, based on which candidates are being decided. Under Mission 25, discussion is being held with each worker.”

When asked if any candidate would be parachuted to contest elections from Rajasthan, senior BJP leader Digambar Singh said, “It will be decided by the high command and workers will follow the decision”.

Party sources believe that if LK Advani contests from Rajasthan then it would boost morale of party workers and Mission 25 will also be achieved in the state.

Similarly, if Arun Jaitley contests from the desert state then state government would be benefitted as he is close to Raje and would get developmental schemes approved for Rajasthan. Raje will be in Delhi on Thursday to finalise the panel of names with the central leadership.

They will also take a final decision on whether sitting MLAs and parliamentary constituency in-charges would be given ticket for contesting.

It was being discussed that sitting MP Devji Patel from Jalore-Sirohi constituency, Bikaner MP Arjun Meghwal, Ram Singh Kaswan from Churu and Dushyant Singh from Jhalawar will be given tickets to contest elections.