BJP to announce names for second phase on January 11 | jaipur | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP to announce names for second phase on January 11

jaipur Updated: Jan 10, 2015 16:41 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Bharatiya Janata Party

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will release the list of candidates for the second phase of the panchayat elections on January 11.

The decision to scrutinise the names of the probables before releasing the list of candidates was taken in a meeting chaired by chief minister Vasundhara Raje, party president Ashok Parnami and other leaders here on Friday.

In the feedback meeting, Raje also interacted with the district leaders to finalise names of the party candidates.

Raje came to attend the meeting as home minister Gulab Chand Kataria, who is in-charge of polls, had fallen ill and was hospitalised.

Interacting with the media after the meeting, Parnami said the party had so far announced a majority of the candidates by consulting local leaders and the list for the second phase would also be released after reaching a consensus.

He said the party had ensured that relatives of elected representatives were not fielded in the panchayat elections and that action would be taken if any such candidate was fielded without informing the party.

In the first phase of the elections scheduled on January 16, a total of 1,012 candidates are in the fray for 412 zila parishad posts and 5,799 candidates are in fray for 2,305 panchayat samiti posts.

Filing of nomination papers for zila parishad and panchayat samiti elections will be allowed till January 12 from 11 am to 3 pm.

Elections to 347 zila parishad and 2,167 panchayat samiti
posts will take place on January 22.

Meanwhile, the nomination for the second phase of the elections started on Friday with the issue of notification by the state election commission.

The nominations for 3,503 sarpanchs and 38,272 panchs will be held on January 23 and the election will take place on January 24.

Political parties usually clash in zila parishad and panchayat samiti elections while sarpanch and panch polls are contested on non-political basis.

Tata Tea’s Anthem of apathy
Partnered feature