Land law stir: MLAs suspended, leaders lathicharged | jaipur | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Land law stir: MLAs suspended, leaders lathicharged

jaipur Updated: Mar 04, 2015 16:56 IST

The Rajasthan assembly speaker on Tuesday suspended nine legislators for the budget session for “creating a ruckus” in the house and even called in marshals to haul them out.

The suspended members of the house include eight from Congress and an independent legislator. This is for the first time in the history of the Rajasthan assembly that so many legislators were suspended in a go, sources said.

The trouble started soon after the leader of opposition Rameshwar Lal Dudi ended his reply to the Governor’s speech. The Congress leaders entered the well in protest against the lathicharge on their leaders, who were staging a demonstration outside the assembly against the controversial land acquisition ordinance on Tuesday.

Around a dozen Youth Congress leaders, including Rajasthan Congress Committee chief Sachin Pilot, state Youth Congress (YC) chief and MLA Ashok Chandna, national Youth Congress chief Amrinder Singh Raja, were reportedly injured.

Speaker Kailash Meghwal tried to placate the protesting opposition leaders but to no avail. Parliamentary affairs minister Rajendra Rathore and home minister Gulab Chand Kataria tried to calm them down with an assurance of a government reply on the issue after the chief minister’s reply to the Governor’s address.

However, the opposition leaders refused to stand down and even ignored the speaker’s appeal to let the house function.

Later, faced with a non-relenting attitude of the opposition members, Meghwal said, “These legislators are trouble makers,” and asked the ruling party to bring in the motion to “send them out”.

After deliberations with CM Vasundhara Raje and other ministers, chief whip of ruling party Kalu Lal Gurjar announced the motion to suspend the nine MLAs. Following the rulebook, the speaker suspended Congress MLAs Ashok Chandna, Shrawan Kumar, Sukhram Bishnoi, Ramesh Meena, Brijendra Ola, Dheeraj Gurjar, Govind Singh Dotasra, Giriraj Malinga, and independent legislator Hanuman Beniwal from the house for the entire budget session.

He adjourned the House for 30 minutes and called in assembly marshals to oust the suspended members. Congress MLA Sukhram Bishnoi had a minor scuffle with marshals.