Low voter turnout in Cong strongholds

  • None, Jaipur
  • Updated: Apr 25, 2014 22:31 IST

The turnout in the assembly constituencies which are considered Congress stronghold remained low on five parliamentary seats in Rajasthan which went for polls on Thursday giving hopes to BJP for accomplishing its Mission25.
The polling at the seats, which are regarded as sensitive, was moreover peaceful barring a few incident of violence and boycott of elections by villagers.

In Neemrana area the voters were attacked by honey bees.

The overall vioting percentage in the second phase of polls touched 60% mark which is around 4% less than first phase when the state had recorded record 63.63%.

Heavy polling was witnessed in minority dominated areas of Tonk-Sawai Madhopur seat where former cricketer Mohammad Azharuddin is fighting a triangular battle with BJP's pick Sukhbir Jaunapuria and NPP's Jagmohan Meena.

In Tonk-Sawai Madhopur constituency, Bamanwas assembly seat-a Meena dominated area-- witnessed a low turnout while Gurjar dominated Deoli-Uniawara, Khandar, Gangapur and Jat dominated Malpura assembly seats witnessed around 60% turnout.

All the assembly seats in Dausa touched around 60% mark with lowest polling in Thanagazi assembly constituency, a Gurjar and Brahman dominated area, while highest polling was recorded in Dausa city a Brahman and Mali dominated pocket. IPS brothers Namo Narain Meena (Congress) Harish Meena (BJP) and Kirori Lal Meena (NPP) are in fray from Dausa.


The highest polling was witnessed on Alwar seat which crossed 65% mark. Around 74% voters came out to exercise their franchise in Meo-Muslim dominated Tijara assembly seats followed by 69% in Yadav dominated Kishangarh-Bas.

Seven out of eight assembly seats in Alwar constituency crossed 60% mark while Dhanka dominated Rajgarh-Laxmangarh area didn't show much enthusiasm and recorded just 57% polling. Prestige of union minister Bhanwar Jitendra Singh is at stake in Alwar who is pitched against godman Chandnath, a close aid of Baba Ramdev. Brahman-Bania dominated Alwar city crossed 65% mark while Yadav dominated Behror and Mundawar nearly touched the coveted mark.

Bharatpur and Karauli-Dholpur

Polling in Bharatpur and Karauli-Dholpur seats, both Scheduled Caste (SC) reserve seat, remained comparatively low at 57% and 54%, respectively. In Bharatpur, highest turnout was recorded at Congress stronghold Kaman assembly seat which is a Meo-Muslims dominated area majority along with Bharatpur city.

Jatav and Koli dominated areas of Weir and Kathumar could not touch 55% mark while lowest polling was reported in Bayana. All three assembly seats are considered Congress stronghold.

Three out of four assembly seats, with majority of Kushwaha, SC, Thakur and Bania votes, in Dholpur district crossed 60% mark while SC dominated Baseri seat barely crossed 55% mark. All the assembly seats in Karauli district, which are considered stronghold of Vasundhara Raje basher Kirori Lal Meena, witnessed low polling with Sapotra barely crossing 45%.

State general secretary of BJP Satish Punia said, "We are confident of winning all the 25 seats now. As there was no incidents of bogus voting and people came out to vote without fear in the otherwise sensitive areas, particularly Dausa and Sawai Madhopur."

"We are confident of win at least two seats out of five in second-phase of elections in Rajasthan," a Congress spokesperson said.

also read

Show comments