NPP fields Kirodi Meena from Dausa | jaipur | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

NPP fields Kirodi Meena from Dausa

jaipur Updated: Apr 01, 2014 22:36 IST

National People's Party (NPP) on Monday announced that former Dausa MP and sitting MLA from Lalsot Dr Kirodi Lal Meena will contest the general elections on the party's ticket from Dausa Lok Sabha seat.

Dr Meena will file his nomination on April 2 at 11am at Dausa after addressing a meeting at Somnath Chowraha, said party president Sunil Bhargava.

NPP will be playing the 'local card' in Dausa. Bhargava said the BJP candidate Harish Meena and Congress candidate Namo Narain Meena hail from Bamanwas village in Sawai Madhopur district, while Kirodi Meena hails from Mahuwa in Dausa district.

"On the demand of people from all castes, our party has fielded local candidate Dr Meena from the Dausa parliamentary constituency," he said.

He said BJP in Rajasthan is on a 'high' after winning 163 out of 200 assembly seats. Hurting the feelings of workers and people, the BJP has fielded seven outsiders, he said.

Bhargava said three BJP candidates are from Haryana, two imported from Congress, one from Karnataka and one from Gujarat. "BJP is overconfident and has become big-headed so it has fielded outsiders at various constituencies by avoiding local leaders. We would not allow Rajasthan to become a pasture land," he said.

He said Congress is on the verge of extinction and NPP has an important role to play. It is the only party that will protest anti-people policies of the government in Rajasthan Vidhan Sabha and will even take to the streets in protest. In the forthcoming panchayat and nagar palika elections, NPP would emerge as an 'alternative' for the people.

BJP's outsiders
Swami Sumedhanand, Mahant Chand Nath and Sukhbir Singh Jaunpuriya, BJP candidates from Sikar, Alwar and Tonk-Sawai Madhopur respectively, former DGP Harish Meena and Col. Sonaram imported from Congress and fielded at Dausa and Barmer constituencies, Ramcharan Bohra candidate from Jaipur is from Karnataka and Devji Patel from Gujarat fielded at Jalore-Sirohi constituency

Nomination process for second phase
The process of filing nominations for the second phase started on March 29 for the five parliamentary constituencies including Dausa (ST) and Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, Bharatpur, Dholpur-Karauli and Alwar. The last date for filing nomination will be April 5 and polling will take place on April 24.