Pilot, Dushyant and several other candidates in Rajasthan fail to cast vote | jaipur | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 27, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Pilot, Dushyant and several other candidates in Rajasthan fail to cast vote

jaipur Updated: Apr 18, 2014 14:48 IST
Rajasthan Lok Sabha elections


While the political leaders kept instilling in the people the importance of voting, over a dozen candidates failed to cast their votes on Thursday.

These candidates at least missed a chance to vote for themselves as majority of them are registered outside the parliamentary constituencies from where they are contesting.

Leading the pack are Sachin Pilot of Congress and Dushyant Singh of BJP.

State Congress chief Pilot is contesting from Ajmer constituency but he is registered as voter at Kotputli in Jaipur Rural. Similarly, Dushyant Singh, son of chief minister Vasundhara Raje, is in the fray from Jhalawar but is registered as a voter at Dholpur constituency.

“No, he could not vote” said one of Pilot’s office managers in a regretful voice.

Interestingly, Congress has maximum number of candidates- seven out of 20 -who could not vote on Thursday, the date for polling in 20 seats of state.

Former union minister CP Joshi, who lost 2008 assembly election by one vote from Nathdwara, would also not be able to vote, as he is a registered voter at Nathdwara in Rajsamand district but contesting from Jaipur rural constituency. He must be keeping his fingers crossed hoping the history doesn’t repeat itself.

Union minister Chandresh Kumari Katoch, contesting from Jodhpur, could not vote as she is registered at Dharamshala in Himachal Pradesh and sitting MP from Nagaur Jyoti Mirdha missed the chance as she is registered at Jhotwara in Jaipur.

Other Congress candidates Udai Lal Anjana from Jalore also failed to exercise his franchise as he is voter at Nibahera in Chittorgarh, Shankar Pannu is contesting from Bikaner (SC) but is registered voter at Sri Ganganangar, and Ashok Chandna is voter at Bundi but remained busy in Bhilwara from where he is contesting.

Independent candidate Buta Singh, contesting from Jalore, also felt pain of not being able to vote as he is registered as a voter at Delhi.

Likewise, Aam Aadmi Party’s candidate from Jhunjhunu General (retd) RS Kadyan Jhunjhunu also could not vote as he registered at Gurgaon.

In the second phase, on April 24 too, IPS brothers Harish Chandra Meena of BJP and Namo Narayan Meena of Congress would not be able to vote as they are registered as voters at Bamanwas under Tonk-Sawai Madhopur constituency while they are contesting from Dausa constituency.

From Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, three main candidates Mohammad Azharuddin of Congress, Sukhbir Singh Jaunapuria of BJP and Jagmohan Meena of National People’s Party would not be able to cast vote. Azharuddin and Jaunapuria are voters from Andhra Pradesh and Haryana respectively while Jagmohan Meena is registered at Dausa.