Rajasthan bypolls: 38 file nominations on last day | jaipur | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Rajasthan bypolls: 38 file nominations on last day

jaipur Updated: Aug 28, 2014 19:17 IST
Rajasthan by-polls


A total of 42 candidates filed their nominations for four assembly constituencies ahead of the by-polls scheduled on September 13. Out of the 42 candidates, 38 filed their papers on the last day of nominations on Wednesday.

According to the election department, 42 candidates have filed nominations including four candidates each of Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party for four assembly constituencies namely Surajgarh in Jhunjhunu district, Weir (SC) in Bharatpur district, Nasirabad in Ajmer district and Kota (South) in Kota district.

In Surajgarh, 14 candidates have filed their papers, while in Weir, Nasirabad and Kota (South), 9, 7 and 11 candidates filed their papers respectively.

Ganga Ram Koli of the BJP. (HT Photo)

The BJP has fielded former health minister Dr Digambar Singh as its candidate on Surajgarh seat. He was extended a warm welcome on the way to Jhunjhunu from Jaipur on Wednesday.

Health minister Rajendra Rathore and Jhunjhunu MP Santosh Ahlawat were with Singh, along with a large number of party supporters. The election department said that scrutiny of papers will take place on Thursday and the last date of withdrawal is August 30.

Former BJP member Manmohan Joshi. (HT Photo)

After the by-elections on September 13, counting will take place on September 16. The election exercise will be completed on September 19.

Out of the four assembly constituencies, Weir is reserved for scheduled caste, while other three are for general category candidates. The total number of polling stations in these four assembly constituencies is 961 with 261 in Surajgarh, 237 in Weir, 212 in Nasirabad and 251 in Kota (South).

Sandeep Sharma of the BJP. (HT Photo)

The total number of critical polling stations in these four constituencies is 244 out of which 42 are in Surajgarh, 96 in Weir, 68 in Nasirabad and 38 in Kota (South).

The total electors include 2.40 lakh in Surajgarh, 2.17 lakh in Weir, 1.95 lakh in Nasirabad and 2.41 lakh in Kota (South).

Ramnarayan Chaudhary of the Congress. (HT Photo)