Six Rajasthan hill forts on Unesco's World Heritage Site status | jaipur | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Six Rajasthan hill forts on Unesco's World Heritage Site status

jaipur Updated: Jun 22, 2013 01:13 IST
Nivedita Khandekar
Hill Forts of Rajasthan

The 'Hill Forts of Rajasthan', six forts located on the rocky terrains of the Aravali mountains, made it to the World Heritage Sites list of Unesco on Friday.

The six forts include Chittaurgarh, Kumbhalgarh, Ranthambore, Jaisalmer, Amber and Gagron in the districts of Chittaurgarh, Rajsamand, Sawai Madhopur, Jaisalmer, Jaipur and Jhalawar respectively. The Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) protects the first three while the rest are under Rajasthan government's Archaeology Department.

"Unesco has icluded 'Hill Forts of Rajasthan' in the World Heritage Site list," Pravin Srivastava, director general, ASI, told HT from Phnom Penh (Cambodia).

These forts – located on the rocky outcrop of the Aravali mountain range – date back to 8th – 19th centuries and represent "military hill architecture" of the Rajputs.

The six hill forts in Rajastan - (clockwise from top left) the Amber, Chittodgadh, Gagron, Jaisalmer, Kumbhalgarh and Ranthambhore forts - that recieved the Unesco World Heritage site status.

Unesco gave approval to India's proposal at its 37th meeting currently being held at Phnom Penh. India currently has 29 World Heritage Sites, including six in natural category and rest in cultural.

India's other proposal under 'natural site' category 'Great Himalayan National Park' in Himachal Pradesh has been put on 'referral list'. "This means India will have to address certain concerns raised in the evaluation and then resubmit the proposal," Srivastava said.