Will Dausa witness battle of the three Meenas? | jaipur | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Will Dausa witness battle of the three Meenas?

jaipur Updated: Mar 29, 2014 22:18 IST
P Srinivasan

Congress party's decision to field Union minister Namo Narain Meena from Dausa parliamentary constituency instead of NPP leader Kirori Lal Meena's brother has miffed the tribal leader.

Kirori has accused Congress of "cheating" and is now mulling to contest as NPP candidate from Dausa.

If Kirori enters Dausa battle, the battle will be between three Meena's.


Two IPS brothers - Namo Narain Meena from Congress, Harish Meena from BJP - and the NPP veteran.

If three Meenas battle out in Dausa, the big question will be that who would be able to swing Meena community's votes and who would polarise votes of other castes.

However, if sources are to be believed there are chances that NPP leader might also contest from Tonk-Sawai Madhopur seat.

Experts believe that Kirori Lal Meena should contest from Tonk-Sawai Madhopur as he has greater chances to win from there due to internal rift in Congress and BJP after both the parties announced its candidates for the seat.

Congress has given ticket to cricketer-turned-politician and the sitting MP from Moradabad (Uttar Pradesh) Mohammad Azharuddin and BJP has fielded ex-MLA from Haryana Sukhbir Singh Jaunpuriya.

The local party workers of both the parties were miffed with these decisions terming them parachute candidates.

Some political experts also opine that Kirodi Lal Meena might contest from Dausa and field his younger brother Jagmohan from Tonk-Sawai Madhopur.

Meanwhile, in a meeting of NPP, sitting MLA of the party from Amer assembly constituency Naveen Pilania has been announced as the candidate from Jaipur Rural Lok Sabha constituency and Pilania has filed his nominations on Wednesday.

Sources informed that the party will be contesting general elections on seven Lok Sabha seats namely Dausa, Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, Dholpur-Karauli, Alwar, Jaipur Rural, Bharatpur and Kota.