Congress leaders start eyeing CM's chair

As campaigning ends, two names from Congress -- party chief G Parameshwar and S Siddaramaiah -- are already in the race for the Karnataka CM's post. Besides them, Union ministers Malikarjun Kharge and Veerappa Moily names are also in the mix.

When he filed the nomination from Koratagere (Tumkur), Parameshwar - a favourite of the party brass- said, "The decision of electing the CM will be taken by the high command..." But at meetings, he was more candid. "Koratagere could become CM's constituency."

In Varuna, Siddaramaiah, seeking a second term, has admitted he's an aspirant for the CM's post but he has a tough battle to face. His opponent is rebel BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa's key aide KP Siddalingaswami, a Lingayat strongman. The JD(S) too is fielding Cheluvaraj, to take away Vokkalinga votes.


also read

203 crorepati MLAs in new Karnataka Assembly

blog comments powered by Disqus