Two of 3 ex-ministers tainted by porngate lose

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Bangalore
  • |
  • Updated: May 08, 2013 19:12 IST
Two of the three BJP leaders who had to resign from their minister posts after being shown across TV channels watching pornographic visuals on a mobile phone in the assembly last year have lost the elections.
Porngate tainted Krishna J Palemar and CC Patil suffered losses, but the third leader embroiled in the controversy, Lakshman Savadi, won.
Palemar lost in Mangalore North to Congress candidate Mohiddeen Bava by 5,373 votes, while Patil lost in Naragund to BR Yavagal of the Congress by 8,585 votes.
Savadi beat Mahesh Iranagouda Kumathalli of the Congress by 23,771 votes in Athani. 
On February 7, 2012, Savadi and Patil were filmed by media crews while watching pornographic visuals on the mobile phone provided by Palemar when the assembly was discussing the drought gripping the state. 
An assembly committee formed to probe the porngate controversy had warned the three leaders and closed the case.

also read

203 crorepati MLAs in new Karnataka Assembly

blog comments powered by Disqus