Anti CPI(M) wave sweeps Bengal in Assembly bypolls | kolkata | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Anti CPI(M) wave sweeps Bengal in Assembly bypolls

kolkata Updated: Nov 10, 2009 15:14 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Anti CPI(M)

The anti-CPI(M) wave kept up its sweep in Bengal with the ruling Communist Party of India (Marxist) losing all five seats it had contested in the Assembly by polls.

On the other hand, Trinamool Congress made a clean sweep in all the seven seats it had contested.

Trinamool Supremo Mamata Banerjee appeared on television and termed the performance as a victory of 'Maa Mati Manush'.

Congress and Trinamool Congress went to the polls with an alliance. The Opposition hopes of a perfect 10 was dashed when the Gorkha Janamukti Morcha-backed independent candidate won the Kalchini seat in Jalpaiguri in North Bengal.

Congress also suffered a blow in Goalpokhor, earlier held by Deepa Dasmunshi, wife of former minster Priya Ranjan Dasmunshi. The seat went to Forward Bloc, which prevented the Left Front being cleaned out of the bypolls.

TMC made a debut in North Bengal by snatching Rajganj in Jalpaiguri district, a traditional CPI(M) seat.

CPI(M) also lost East Belgachia, a seat held for years by late Subhas Chakravarty, the former CPI(M) heavyweight minister.

Out of the 10 seats, TMC won seven, Congress won one, Forward Bloc got one and independent one.

The distribution earlier was TMC 5, Congress 2, CPI(M) 3.