Anti-Mamata Cong MPs chosen from Bengal | kolkata | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Anti-Mamata Cong MPs chosen from Bengal

kolkata Updated: Oct 28, 2012 23:47 IST
Arindam Sarkar

The choice of the three Congress MPs inducted by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh into his council of ministers from West Bengal — Adhir Chowdhury, AH Khan Chowdhury and Deepa Dasmunsi — signals the possibility of the Congress snapping all ties with the Trinamool Congress in the state.

The MPs — inducted as ministers of state — are known for their aggressive stand against chief minister Mamata Banerjee and have been demanding that the Congress break all its ties with the Trinamool to revive its party organisation in Bengal.

The PM has appointed Adhir as MoS in the railways, Dasmunsi as MoS in urban development and Khan Chowdhury as MoS in health and family welfare.

“This is a bonanza for Bengal. It will consolidate the Congress’ position in its strongholds and give the party a boost,” said AICC member in charge of Bengal Shakeel Ahmed.

Said Adhir after taking oath, “This is a positive signal from AICC president Sonia Gandhi to those who said she was neglecting the Bengal Congress and soft-pedalling on Mamata. That Bengal got three MoSes from its kitty of six Congress MPs proves that extra attention is being given to the state.”