CM seat has most nominees | kolkata | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

CM seat has most nominees

kolkata Updated: Apr 13, 2011 16:03 IST
Sukumar Debnath

Jadavpur, the electoral constituency of chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, has emerged as the seat with the highest number of contestants.

Of the cumulative count of 198 candidates across 31 assembly seats in South 24- Parganas, Jadavpur leads with 12 nominees, followed by Maheshtala with eight candidates and Canning West and Basanti bringing up the rear with four electoral nominees each.

The Jadavpur seat outscores other assembly seats in South 24-Parganas in terms of Independents with nominations.

Among the parties that have field nominees from Jadavpur are Trinamool, BJP, BSP and Party for Democracy and Socialism. The chief minister filed his nomination on April 5. He is pitted against Trinamool’s Manish Gupta.

Two-thirds of the candidates across the 31 assembly seats of the district have filed their nominations as Independents. The South 24-Parganas is set to go to polls on April 27.