CPI(M) MLA angry, resigns | kolkata | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

CPI(M) MLA angry, resigns

kolkata Updated: Apr 04, 2011 15:36 IST
Sukumar Debnath

Discontent over ticket allocation in the CPI(M) in West Bengal is now visible from an MLA's decision to leave the party.

Bishnupur East (South 24 Parganas district, south of Kolkata) MLA Ananda Kumar Biswas is unhappy with the party because of its decision to field an “outsider” in his constituency for the 2011 polls.

Biswas, a district committee member and zonal committee secretary, is waiting for the party’s decision before he gives up the legislator’s post as well.

“It is for the party to decide and I have nothing more to comment at this moment,” said Biswas when contacted by HT.

An advocate by training, Biswas won from the constituency in 1996 and 2006. He is known to have a bitter relationship with land reforms minister Abdur Rezzak Mollah.

The CPI(M) has nominated Sudhin Sinha, a resident of a place about 50 km from the constituency, a reserved one.

Biswas has refused to accept the party’s decision, which he says amounts to the CPI(M) acknowledging that there is not one suitable candidate there. Biswas sent his letter of resignation to the party in the last week of March, pointing at its allegedly whimsical ways of functioning in the district.

In West Bengal, the CPI(M) has denied tickets to 79 of its sitting MLAs, including six ministers.

In South 24 Parganas district, there are eight dumped MLAs.