One-third seats won, Anubrata’s men fighting for the rest | kolkata | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

One-third seats won, Anubrata’s men fighting for the rest

kolkata Updated: Jul 22, 2013 12:34 IST
Snigdhendu Bhattacharya
Snigdhendu Bhattacharya
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The sweep could not have been cleaner. A 100%!

Labhpur block in Birbhum district has achieved this unique distinction of having no need to conduct polls at any seat in any of the three tiers of the panchayat elections.

Trinamool Congress has won all 116 gram panchayat seats, all 25 panchayat samiti seats and all three zilla parishad seats uncontested.

Polls could never be any calmer in any block!

But its not Labhpur alone, Trinamool’s spree of uncontested victory has resulted in winning 88% of the seats in the entire Bolpur subdivision right at the nomination phase, turning it into the subdivision where most numbers of seats have been won uncontested.

The second in position is Hooghly’s Arambag subdivision, where Trinamool has won 78% of the seats uncontested. In Khanakul block of the subdivision Trinamool won 99% seats uncontested.

Bolpur-Sriniketan is the only block in this subdivision where a section of the electorate would get a chance to vote. Trinamool has won 95 of 148 gram panchayat seats, 15 of 26 panchayat samiti seats and one of three zilla parishad seats without any contest.

But in Illambazar, polls would be conducted in one zilla parishad seat, as Trinamool has won all 166 seats of gram panchayats and 25 seats of the panchayat samiti.

Poll in Birbhum is hitting the headlines for all the wrong reasons, thanks to Anubrata Mandal, district president of the ruling party. Mandal has made clear his message to party men: no one should be allowed to contest.

Vandalise houses, set them on fire, or bomb the police if needed.

His message is aimed at the two other subdivisions in the district, Rampurhat and Sadar where the ruling party will have to face a contest, as many of their own partymen are contesting as independent candidates.

In Nanoor of Bolpur subdivision, which has witnessed widespread political violence ever since the birth of Trinamool Congress in 1998, Trinamool has won 151 of 168 gram panchayat seats, 28 of 31 panchayat samiti seats and two of three zilla parishad seats.

All three ‘opposition’ candidates in panchayat samiti seats are rebel Trinamool workers contesting as Independents.

At Thupsaragram panchayatarea, Independents are contesting in 16 of 21-gram panchayat seats.

However, the two blocks in Nalhati are going to witness tough triangular contest between Congress, CPI (M) and Trinamool.