Presidential election begins in West Bengal | kolkata | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Presidential election begins in West Bengal

kolkata Updated: Jul 19, 2007 11:24 IST

Polling for the presidential election started at 10 am on Thursday morning in the West Bengal Assembly.

The Left Front has 235 MLAs, but with CPI-M MLA Dibakar Raut having expired on Wednesday the strength has been reduced to 234.

Trinamool Congress on Wednesday decided to abstain from voting. However, suspended Trinamool MLA Sadhan Pandy said on Wednesday that he would vote for UPA candidate Pratibha Patil.

GNLF MLA Shanta Chhetri said that all three MLAs of the party would vote for Pratibha Patil.

The value of each vote of a West Bengal legislator is 151 while that of an MP is 708.

The first legislator to vote was veteran Congress member Gyan Singh Sohanpal.

A Congress MLA Mahbul Haq was reported to be seriously ill.