HindustanTimes Fri,11 Jul 2014

Karnataka polls: counting of votes

  • Chief minister Jagadish Shettar wins from Hubli-Dharwad Central with a margin of over 17,750 votes
  • Latest trends Wins: Congress: 118, JD-S: 39, BJP: 40, Others: 15, KJP: 6
  • G Parameshwara loses in Karatagere by more than 18,000 votes
  • JDS state unit President H D Kumaraswamy wins in Ramanagara by more than 25,000 votes.
  • Defeat of BJP is defeat of an ideology: PM Manmohan Singh
  • Happy with Congress victory, legislators will decide CM candidate: Sonia Gandhi
  • Very happy that Karnataka voted for Congress with absolute majority: P Chidambaram
  • Thanks to all the voters of Karnataka who have given clear majority to Congress: Siddaramaiah
  • BS Yeddyurappa wins in Shikaripura constituency with a margin of 20,000 votes
  • Congress leader CM aspirant Siddaramaiah won from Varuna against KJP's Kapu Siddalinga Swamy
  • IR Perumal (KJP) loses from Shivajinagar
  • I blame the media for our defeat, media did propaganda against us: HD Kumaraswamy
  • Wins: Congress-23 BJP-6, JDS-1 KJP-1, BSR-2 Others-1
  • Failed to get blessings of Northern Karnataka voters: HD Kumaraswamy
  • We will sit in opposition and fight it: HD Kumaraswamy
  • Grass-roots of our country have better sagacity about life: Salman Khurshid on Karnataka poll result
  • The people of Karnataka have voted: Manish Tewari, Congress
  • This accidental victory of the Congress (is) because of the split in BJP votes: Ravi Shankar Prasad
  • Pramod Madhwaraj of Congress wins from Udupi constituency
  • Losing BS Yeddyurappa a big mistake: BJP's Lehar Singh
  • BJP will meet the same fate in General Elections: Kapil Sibal on Karnataka result
  • Congress crosses 100-seat mark, leading in 115 seats
  • KM Shivalinge Gowda (JDS) leading in Arsikere
  • Trends- Congress: 92, BJP: 38, JD-S: 43, KJP: 10, Others: 13
  • Whatever the High Command will decide will be unanimously accepted: Mallikarjun Kharge, Congress
  • Renukacharya (KJP) trailing in Honnali
  • Congress will get majority in Karnataka: KPCC chief
  • Y.N. Rudresha Gowda (Congress) leading in Belur
  • Malikayya Venkayya Guttedar (Congress) leading in Afzalpur
  • We will get full majority and form government: KH Muniyappa, Congress
  • Anita Kumaraswamy (JDS) leading in Channapatna
  • Hope to win 70-80 seats in Karnataka Assembly polls: BJP's Sadanand Gowda
  • Appaji MJ (JDS) leading in Bhadravati
  • Guttiganuru Virupaksha Gouda (BJP) leading in Bellary City
  • CT Ravi (BJP) leading in Chikmagalur
  • Anandswamy Gaddadevarmath (Independent) leading in Belgaum Rural
  • Chimmanakatti Balappa Bhimappa (Congress) leading in Badami
  • Balachandra Jarkiholi (BJP) leading in Arabhavi, Laxman Sangappa Savadi (BJP) leading in Athni
  • Basavaraj Koujalgi (Congress) leading in Bailhongal
  • Ambareesh (Congress) leading in Mandya
  • Renukacharya (KJP) trailing in Honnali
  • Siddaramaiah (Congress) leading in Varuna
  • KS Eshwarappa (BJP) leading in Shimoga
  • Karunakara Reddy (BJP) leading in Harapanahalli
  • SS Mallikarjuna (Congress) leading in Davanagere North
  • Meti Hullappa Yamanappa (Congress) leading in Bagalkot
  • Balachandra Jarkiholi (BJP) leading in Arabhavi
  • H D Kumaraswamy (JDS) leading in Ramanagaram
  • Jagadish Shettar (BJP) leading in Hubli-Dharwad-Central
  • Ranjan G. Gowda (BJP) leading in Beltangadi, K. Gopala Poojary (Congress) leading in Byndoor
  • B. Sreeramulu (BSRC) leading in Bellary, Appaji.M.J. (JDS) leading in Bhadravati
  • BS Yeddyurappa leading in Shikaripura constituency
  • Early leads: Cong 3, BJP 2, JDS 3, KJP 0, others 1
  • Counting of votes for single phase Karnataka Assembly polls underway at 36 Centres across the state.
  • The results will decide the fate of 2,940 candidates in 223 Assembly segments
  • Most of the results should be out by noon, according to state election authorities
  • Exit polls have widely predicted a Congress victory in Karnataka Assembly elections
  • Over 71% of the 40.36 million eligible voters in the state cast their ballots on polling day (Sunday - May 5, 2013 )
  • Polling took place for 223 of the 224 elected seats in the 225-member assembly that includes one nominated member
  • Any party winning 113 seats will reach the majority mark
  • The state electorate had delivered a fractured verdict in 2004 leading two coalition governments -- Congress and JD-S, followed by JD-S and BJP.
  • In the 2008 polls, the BJP won only 110 seats and crossed the majority mark of 113 with the support of five Independents.
  • Congress, BJP, Janata Dal (Secular) of former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda and Karnataka Janatha Paksha (KJP) of former chief minister BS Yeddyurappa are the main players in the Karnataks polls


Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved