BSP MLA disqualified for joining Mulayam party | lucknow | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BSP MLA disqualified for joining Mulayam party

lucknow Updated: Oct 04, 2011 23:30 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The anti-defection law got to Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) MLA Sher Bahadur on Tuesday after he recently joined Mulayan Singh-led Samajwadi Party.

Announcing Bahadur's disqualification, Uttar Pradesh assembly speaker Sukhdeo Rajbhar said the move came on the back of a petition by BSP state president Swami Prasad Maurya, who had sought action against the MLA. Maurya, on Tuesday, filed another petition seeking disqualification of BSP's Bikapur (Faizabad) MLA Jitendra Singh 'Babloo', who switched over to the Peace Party.

Rajbhar said petitions against two more BSP MLAs-Krishna Kumar alias Satish Verma from Mallawan (Hardoi) and Bhagwan Singh alias Guddu Pandit from Dibai (Bulandshahr)-were also pending. Both have joined SP and have been declared as its candidates from their respective constituencies for 2012 assembly elections. The speaker said the petitions against them would come up for hearing next week.

Addressing journalists in the state capital, the speaker said Bahadur's disqualification was with effect from July 25.

Bahadur, who represented Jalalpur assembly constituency in Ambedkar Nagar had joined the SP in July. Maurya had moved the petition against him on August 27. The SP has nominated him from Jalalpur for the coming elections.

Last month, the speaker had disqualified BSP MLA from Masauli Farid Mehfooz Kidwai on the same ground.