Online registration of voters resumed | lucknow | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Online registration of voters resumed

lucknow Updated: Oct 14, 2013 09:08 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The online voter registration process has been resumed after remaining suspended for a long time.

Officials said that the disruption was due to some technical snags in the central NIC server in Delhi.

The disruption in the online voter registration process had put off many citizens, with error messages flashing on their screens each time they tried to register or update their information on the voter list.

As part of the drive, online facility has been provided so that citizens can get themselves registered sans any hassles.

“There was no problem, save for some snags in the central server in New Delhi. But now everything has been set right and one can register as a voter online,” said chief electoral officer (CEO) Umesh Sinha

The election commission of India allows one to register online as a voter.

The website www.ceouttarpradesh.nic. in will ask for one’s mobile number.

After providing the mobile number, a verification code will be sent on the mobile.

One must submit the verification code to proceed with the voter registration method.

“We want maximum participation of voters,” Sinha added.

Those citizens who would be 18 on January 2014 can enrol themselves as voters either online or offline.

The voter revision exercise is already underway across the district.

In case there is some problem on the election commission website (, the eligible voters can access additional information through the district administration’’s website, which connects the user to the state’s chief electoral officer’s website.

The administration has uploaded the voters’ list of all constituencies on the website. Applicants can check their information on the list, such as name, address and age and submit the application if they want any changes.

The month-long voter list revision drive is being undertaken in all the nine assembly constituencies ahead of the 2014 general elections.