HindustanTimes Mon,22 Dec 2014
Gandhi, Chatterjee take Rookie Cup titles
Hyderabad, May 22, 2012
First Published: 20:12 IST(22/5/2012)
Last Updated: 20:22 IST(22/5/2012)
Anshuman Chatterjee (left) and Arya Gandhi won the JK Tyre Rookie Cup in the Senior Max and Junior Max categories, respectively. HT PHOTO

Mumbai lad Arya Gandhi of RayoRacing (206 points) pipped Chennai's Surya Raguram of Meco Racing by one point (205) to emerge the Junior Max champion in the JKTyre-MMS Rookie Cup karting championship here Sunday.
Gandhi, who led the consistent Raguram by a single point after three races on Saturday, finished third in Sunday's opening race which was won by Raguram, but came back strongly to win the last race in which Raguram finished third.
"I am thrilled to win the championship," said Gandhi, a class 9 student of Hill Spring School, after the second and final round of five races in the 10-race series.
Mysore boy H.B. Phaneesh of Mohite's Racing (225 points) and Anshuman Chatterjee of Mumbai (Rayo Racing, 215 points) emerged champions in the Micro Max and Senior Max categories.
The Rookie Cup is a prelude to the JKTyre National Rotax Max championship commencing in June and provides an opportunity to rookie drivers to step up.
The winners of the three classes in the Rookie Cup will be rewarded with Scholarship Training Programmess under former ace driver Akbar Ebrahim.
The results:
Micro Max (10 laps): Race 4 - 1. H.B. Phaneesh 6mins, 10.858secs; 2. Preethunna 6:21.994; 3. Yash Aradhya 6:23.958.Race 5: 1. Phaneesh 6:02.472; 2. Padam 6:03.293; 3. Mrinal 6:19.430.
Junior Max: Race 4 (15 laps) - 1. Surya Raguram 8:31.154; 2. Nayan Chatterjee 8:33.668; 3. Arya Gandhi 8:35.696. Race 5 (14 laps): 1. Arya Gandhi 9:00.091; 2. Nayan Chatterjee 9:02.944; 3. Surya Raguram 9:03.200.
Senior Max: Race 4 (15 laps): 1. Pranav Thakkar 8:41.799; 2. Anshuman Chatterjee 8:43.675; 3. Rubeel Saleem 8:50.986. Race 5 (14 laps): 1. Pranav Thakkar 9:09.297; 2. Anshuman Chatterjee:13.763; 3. Rubeel Saleem 9:17.924.
Championship positions:
Micro Max: 1. H.B. Phaneesh 225points; 2. Yash Aradhya 174; 3. Mrinal Chatterjee 105.
Junior Max: 1. Arya Gandhi 206; 2. Surya Raguram 205; 3. Akash Gowda 123.
Senior Max: 1. Anshuman Chatterjee 215 points; Rubeel Saleem 180; 3. Pranav Thakkar 162.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus

F1 car vrooms on Rajpath
more »

In the know
Every racer's first step

In this week's column, I thought I would look at the most basic form of motorsport  - Go-Karting. When I was 6 year's old, my parents gave me a small cadet kart as a birthday present. Karun Chandhok writes.

In The Know
One for the road...

As I write on board the flight to Singapore for the Grand Prix, I thought it's a good time to go slightly off track with this week's column and talk about the travel in F1! Karun Chandhok writes. Going the distance
more »

Never thought I'd race in an Indian GP, says Narain

Narain Karthikeyan
"Since the day I started racing, I dreamt of being in the Formula One," said Narain Karthikeyan. "But never in my wildest dream did I think of racing in an Indian GP." That's how the country's first F1 racer wants to sum up his excitement about the upcoming event next month. "It's going to be the most special thing in my life," he added.

Formula One driver regimen

It’s not all glamour for the Formula One drivers who endure demanding conditions while in the cockpit. They’re subjected to incredible wear-and-tear. HT reveals their fitness regimens.

more »
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved